Skip to main content

The Argelander Society

The Argelander Society

Named for Friedrich Argelander, who is considered to be "the

father of variable star astronomy," The Argelander Society

offers membership benefits to those individuals who have

given substantial financial support to the AAVSO over many

years. Once a benefactor has donated a cumulative total

of $35,000.00 to the AAVSO, they are eligible for a lifetime

membership in the organization, free registration to annual

meetings, invitations to special events, special awards, and

tokens of the association’s appreciation.

Friedrich Wilhelm August Argelander


Photograph courtesy of the Mary Lea Shane Archives

of the Lick Observatory, University of California-Santa Cruz

The AAVSO gratefully acknowledges the benefactor members of

The Argelander Society

William B. Albrecht

Robert Martin Ayers

Marvin E. Baldwin

John Centala

Charles E. Curry

Margaret Doleman

Clinton B. Ford

Martha L. Hazen

Arne and Linda Henden

E. Dorrit Hoff leit

James Molnar

Gordon Myers

Richard S. Post

Theodore H. N. Wales

Gary Walker

Thomas R. Williams

AAVSO 49 Bay State Rd. Cambridge, MA 02138 617-354-0484