Skip to main content

AAVSO Council

AAVSO Officers and Council-William Stein

William Stein 2015-2017

Astronomy, Ph.D.

Imaging Scientist, Physical Science Department, New Mexico State University

AAVSO Officers and Council-Aaron Price

Aaron Price 2015-2017

Learning Sciences, Ph.D.

Manager of Evaluation and Research, Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago

AAVSO Officers and Council-Joyce A. Guzik

Joyce A. Guzik 2015-2017

Astronomy, Ph.D.

Scientist, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Announcing the Fall 2015 AAVSO Council Election Nominees

Please click on the name of the nominee to view his/her online biography. Council election ballot instructions were mailed electronically to each member in mid-September. Best of luck to all of our 2015 nominees!

Section Leaders

Current Section Leaders

Also visit our observing section pages!

AAVSO Officers and Council-Stella Kafka


Stella Kafka

Astronomy, Ph.D.

"I am thrilled to be part of an active community of professional and non-professional astronomers trying to understand the most exciting (sometimes unpredictable) objects in the night sky!"

AAVSO Officers and Council-Arne A. Henden

Honorary Council Member

Arne A. Henden

Former AAVSO Director (2005-2015)

AAVSO Officers and Council-Doug Welch

Doug Welch 2013-2015

Astronomy, Ph.D.

Professor, Physics and Astronomy, McMaster University

AAVSO Officers and Council-David G. Turner

David G. Turner 2009-2011, 2011-2013, 2013-2015

Astronomy, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Astronomy and Physics at Saint Mary’s University in Halifax, Nova Scotia

AAVSO Officers and Council-Richard Sabo

Richard Sabo 2014-2015

M.D., F.A.C.S.

Past President of the American College of Surgeons


AAVSO 49 Bay State Rd. Cambridge, MA 02138 617-354-0484