Skip to main content

AAVSO History

AAVSO Bulletin 80 for 2017 - Letter to Observers

Letter to Users of 2017 Bulletin

                                                                                                                                            February 2017

Dear Observers,

AAVSO Bulletin 79 for 2016 - Letter to Observers

Letter to Users of 2016 Bulletin

                                                                                                                                                        February 2016

Dear Observers,

AAVSO Bulletin 78 for 2015 - Letter to Observers

Letter to Users of 2015 Bulletin

                                                                                                                                                        February 2015

Dear Observers,

AAVSO Bulletin 77 for 2014 - Letter to Observers

Letter to Users of 2014 Bulletin

                                                                                                                                                        February 2014

Dear Observers,

AAVSO Bulletin 76 for 2013 - Letter to Observers

Letter to Users of 2013 Bulletin

                                                                                                                                                             February 2013

Dear Observers,

AAVSO Bulletin 75 for 2012 - Letter to Observers

Letter to Users of 2012 Bulletin and Some AAVSO Bulletin History

                                                                                                                                     February 2012

Dear Observers,

AAVSO 100th Anniversary Commemorative Posters

By popular demand! A set of twenty pdf commemorative posters exhibited at AAVSO Headquarters is available for downloading from our ftp site.

The posters show portraits of the AAVSO's Directors, Presidents, Secretaries, Treasurers, Council members, and Staff from 1911 to 2011, and the top Visual, CCD, PEP, and Photographic/Photovisual observers.

Click on the links below to download each poster.

AAVSO Scientific committee, section, division, and program chairs since 1911

Note: years shown prior to 1949 are as found in available archival records and may not be definitive.

Committee                     Years                   Chair; co–chair

Auroral                       1940–1948               Edward A. Halbach
                              1951–1954               Donald S. Kimball

Cataclysmic Variable          2008–                   Mike Simonsen; Gary Poyner

Charge-Coupled Device (CCD)   1992–1994               Priscilla J. Benson
                              1994–1996               Priscilla J. Benson; Gary Walker


AAVSO 49 Bay State Rd. Cambridge, MA 02138 617-354-0484