Skip to main content


Observer Awards for Variable Star Observing

Without the nightly observations of amateur astronomers, the professional astronomer would find it difficult, if not impossible, to collect the quantity of data that is needed to further the study of stars, the Sun, novae and supernovae, comets, and meteors.

The Director's Award

The Director's Award is awarded at the Director's discretion in the form of a plaque to an outstanding observer who contributes to special observing projects or contributes to the work of the AAVSO in other ways.


Kris Larsen of New Britain, Connecticut

The William Tyler Olcott Distinguished Service Award

The William Tyler Olcott Distinguished Service Award—Initiated in 2000, this award is presented to a member of the AAVSO organization for outstanding contributions in mentoring/promoting variable star astronomy.

The Merit Award


AAVSO 49 Bay State Rd. Cambridge, MA 02138 617-354-0484