Skip to main content

Special Topic Chat this Thursday, October 18th

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
RebeccaTurner
RebeccaTurner's picture
Special Topic Chat this Thursday, October 18th

Arne will be hosting a special chat this Thursday on the topic of, "Amateurs in the Era of Surveys."  Do you have questions?  Opinions?  If so, join us at 16:00 Eastern (20:00 UT) in the AAVSO chat room.

Hope to see you there!

RebeccaTurner
RebeccaTurner's picture
Now 2 sessions!

An update to yesterday's announcement about the special chat on "Amateurs in the Era of Surveys" this Thursday, Otober 18th...

In order to try to involve more participants, we will hold two sessions.  The first will remain at 16:00 Eastern (20:00 UT, Oct 18).  The second session will be held at 20:00 Eastern (00:00 UT, Oct 19). This may give us some information about which time works best for the largest number of people so cast your vote by showing up!

The AAVSO Chat Room

Gustav Holmberg
Archive

Interesting topic!

For those of us unable to log on at these times, will the chat sessions be saved and available for later reading?

/Gustav, HGUA

RebeccaTurner
RebeccaTurner's picture
transcripts

Hello Gustav,

Any transcripts that we are able to save will be posted in this thread after the chat.

Thanks for asking!
Rebecca

RebeccaTurner
RebeccaTurner's picture
transcripts

Hello All,  Here are the transcripts from the chat sessions yesterday!

Session #1

Session #2

wlp
Photometric Science Alerts from Gaia

This new preprint is very much related to the topic of the chat:

[We] conclude with an invitation to collaborate in the ground-based follow-up Gaia alerts during the early months of the mission when the outcome of the alerting pipeline needs to be verified.

Patrick

Gustav Holmberg
Thanks for posting the

Thanks for posting the transcripts! Nice reading!

/Gustav, HGUA

Log in to post comments
AAVSO 49 Bay State Rd. Cambridge, MA 02138 aavso@aavso.org 617-354-0484