Search Committee Members

Committee Chair:

Kevin Marvel

  •  Executive Officer, American Astronomical Society (AAS)

  •  AAVSO: Council Member from 2000 to 2005, Vice President from 2002 to 2005, Chair of 2004 AAVSO Director Search Committee




Committee Members:

Aaron Price

  •  Manager of Evaluation and Research, Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago; Member of the AAS' Astronomy Education Board

  •  AAVSO: Technical Assistant at AAVSO HQ from 1998-2010, Assistant Director from 2010-2012, current member




Edward Guinan

  •  Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Villanova University

  •  AAVSO: Council Member




Gary Walker

  •  Astronomer and Telescope Engineer, Maria Mitchell Association

  •  AAVSO: Secretary




Jeno (Jennifer) Sokoloski

  •  Associate Research Scientist, Columbia Astrophysics Laboratory

  •  AAVSO: 1st Vice President



Lee Anne Willson

  •  University Professor, Iowa State University, Department of Physics and Astronomy; founder of Creative Artists’ Studios of Ames; on the Board of Directors of the Octagon Center for the Arts in Ames

  •  AAVSO: Council Member (1981-84, 1994-2004), Vice President (1997-1999), President (1999-2001), Search Committee Member (2004), 2008 AAVSO Merit Award Recipient, AAVSO Member since 1978


Mario M. Motta

  •  Board of the International Dark-Sky Association (IDA), Ex president Mass Med Society, Massachusetts American Medical Association (AMA) Respresentative, Member of the council of Science and Public health of the AMA

  •  AAVSO: Council Member (1996-2000), Current President



Richard Sabo

  •  Past President of the American College of Surgeons, Past President of the Southwestern Montana Astronomical Society, Honorary Messier Club Certificate from the Astronomical League (2000), British Astronomical Association (member), Society of Astronomical Science (member)

  •  AAVSO: Member since 2007, CHOICE participant, 2012 CCD School participant, over 150,000 observations contributed to the AID